The Minnesota Grizzly Bear

Roaring about life since 2009

Today’s GOP News, 2/8/10

Here’s a few interesting stories of interest to Republicans in the news today:

South Carolina Republicans unite with tea party

NRCC expands Young Guns program

GOP Lacks Female Candidates

In this story from the MN Legislature (Amendments stall vote on eminent domain bill), my first reaction is this bill is an excellent idea designed to support private property rights, but without knowing more I’m hesitant to fully agree.  But if there is such a statute that makes it easier for companies to seize private property, getting rid of it would be a step forward for liberty.  Time for some research.

Have it good,

-Mike

February 8, 2010 Posted by | Economics, Minnesota, Republicans | , , , , | Leave a comment

Conan O’Who?

Aw, how can I get my Conan O’Brien fix if he’s nowhere to be found?

The GE unit has removed every episode of the show’s seven-month run from its NBC.com site, as well as Hulu, the site NBC owns with News Corp.’s Fox and Disney’s ABC.

NBC throws Conan down the memory hole, deletes his online content

Reason number#256,141 to not watch NBC.  Awesome.

Have it good,

-Mike

February 8, 2010 Posted by | Miscellaneous | , , , , | Leave a comment

MNgb’s picks – Monday, Feb. 8th

Here’s your GrizzlyNews and opinions from across the country, and Minnesota in particular for 2/8/10:

Unallotment Deadline Looming – an excellent blog post about the political ramifications of the unallotment debate and court case for the DFL in an election year (what is unallotment?).  I still can’t quite get over the difference between the MN Constitution and the Federal Constitution in terms of separation of powers, we seem to be a lot more fast and loose with the branch distinctions in Minnesota than the Feds are.  I tried to spur some discussion on the difference between unallotment and the line-item veto in my Precinct caucus group last week, and it actually developed more than I thought it would.  I even learned some interesting things about budget authority.  Neat.

Google to enlist NSA to help it ward off cyberattacks – Not too sure what to think about this story, honestly.  I’m swinging back and forth between “good for you Google, protect my privacy” and “OH GOD BIG BROTHER OMNIVEILLANCE AND CORPORATISM.”  You can see the problem that arises with a story like this, obviously.  I picked up the term Omniveillance from an article by Josh Blackman that I know I’ve mentioned before, yet it still comes back to haunt me with its insightfulness…

The inevitable fix for the deficit – Is the VAT really as “inevitable” as this article says?  I don’t think so, sorry.  The Value-Added Tax strikes me as another shadow way for government to hide its tax increases and to pay for its bloated expansion plans.  If the government taxes products at the manufacturing level, as the article states is the basic plan for a VAT, at what will the public focus its anger?  Business.  All business.  Since the businesses will have to price their goods higher due to skyrocketing input costs (thanks, VAT), the people will see the entity closest to them as the problem, and if businesses are the last link in the chain, then government gets off scot-free with the money.  Whether that rant is an argument against VAT I have no idea, but damnit do we really want bureaucracy as big as Europe’s as the future of America?  Look deep into your reservoir of knowlege and honestly answer that question.  I don’t.

Jobs push continues with $50M MN Senate proposal – Everyone repeat after me.  “Government spending does not create meaningful, long-term economic growth.”

To be continued, it’s time for class.

Have it good,

-Mike

February 8, 2010 Posted by | Economics, Minnesota, News | , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Groups Ask for Amendment Review

Damnit, I’ve been saying this all along since this amendment was proposed and passed in Minnesota.  All that the MN constitutional amendment raising the sales tax will do is give the State Legislature another source of tax revenue to raid when they want to do something.  And it seems like the outdoor and environmental groups that supported the amendment are having some qualms with how the State is defining the language of the amendment:

“By changing the definitions you have spread out the purposes for which the constitutional amendment was dedicated to,” Ness said. “Our fear is that money will now be diverted to other types of projects other than what was intended by the vote of voters.”

Groups asking for review of outdoors amendment language

I thought from the beginning that the amendment was just a backdoor tax scam, a smokescreen to raise revenue for whatever the Legislature wants at the time.  By defining the amendment’s words as broadly as they have, it allows the state to do anything with the money.  Welcome to the world of legal elasticity, you’ll see a few familiar faces – over there is the Interstate Commerce Clause, ooh ooh and over there is General Welfare!

Maybe we would all be better off if we didn’t approve unnecessary amendments that the government could abuse in the first place?  Don’t give them words to broadly define by keeping laws simple and few.

Exactly.

Have it good,

-Mike

February 8, 2010 Posted by | Environment, Minnesota, Politics, Taxes | , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The World Needs a Hustler

Ok, so the title was a bit misleading since what I mean by hustler is how this “Art of Manliness” post describes it:

I’m talking about the work-your-ass-off-while-your-competition-plays-Rock Band kind of hustling. Hustling=doing whatever you have to do, for however long as you have to do it, until you reach your goal.

The World Belongs to Those Who Hustle

I enjoyed reading this post for a few reasons, one being that I rarely sleep anymore because I have so much to do and learn about a lot of things.  Whether it’s blogging, reading a couple books a night, homework for class, articles about politics, news, philosophy, theories, to my own writing on a variety of topics, there’s a lot to do in a day.  So why ruin it with sleeping?  I totally agre with his “bust your ass” philosophy.

The second reason this article resonated with me is that I’m basically in the same boat as he is.  I’m fairly average in most things, but I make up for it with the amount of hours I pour into any given topic or pursuit.  I want to go to law school after I graduate, so I’m going to have to bust my ass if I want to succeed in both getting there and succeeding while I’m there.  It’s been quite a trip so far, who would have guessed that so many laws and cases could be so important?  hahaha.  His example of hustle is inspiring, without a doubt.

So what was the point of that rant?  Go check out this guy’s blog!  Become a man at last!

The Art of Manliness

Have it good,

-Mike

February 8, 2010 Posted by | Man Skills | , , | 1 Comment