The Minnesota Grizzly Bear

Roaring about life since 2009

i don’t think i can even count that high

Well in this story here it looks like one of the Republican candidates for governor of Minnesota might be stepping out of the race.  That’s too bad, Pat Anderson was on my short list of favorites after I saw them all in September at debates in the Cities.  But never fail, since we in the GOP love competition so very much we’ve gained one as well! 

I’m not sure what I think of Bob Carney, the new moderate-leaning entry into the race.  I’m a strong conservative-libertarian, and the knee-jerk reaction to hearing “moderate” is a feeling of distaste, but maybe that’s what will capture Minnesota.  We’ll see.

“I think that the Republican Party needs to move in a more moderate and progressive direction, and it needs to be challenged on that,” Carney said. “I think I’ve got some ideas that are going to be appealing to a lot of people, including people who have left the Republican Party, and people who are independents.”

Field of Gubernatorial Candidates Continues to Grow

In other news, the party favorite Rep. Marty Seifert raised over $262,000 last year, with Tom Emmer coming in second with $115,000.  I met all the Republican candidates in September, and Rep. Seifert didn’t really strike me as a communicator like Pawlenty, but we’ll see.  I am a big fan of his positions on a lot of issues though, I’m just not sure if he has the charisma to win over more than Minnesota’s party base.

There’s your dose of Minnesota Republican politics for the day, enjoy!

Have it good,

-Mike

January 12, 2010 - Posted by | Minnesota, Politics, Republicans | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. What the Republicans need to do is hold to its promises of fiscal responsibility and sticking to the letter of the Constitution. But like I said in a different comment, both parties play the role of Opposition until they are in power, whereupon they do nothing but gorge themselves on power. So we can talk about what “they need to do”, but they won’t do it. Ever. The love the status quo. They are the status quo.

    Comment by Mr. Anon | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. I totally agree, that’s what I’m trying to do as a Republican delegate at the state and local level, through the caucuses and conventions. I want to get involved and make sure no bullshit gets through. I’ll support the party to a point, sure, but I’m not sure I would be comfortable if Coleman were to get the endorsement. I would be much happier with Seifert or Emmer, I think they have State congressional records strong enough to really back up their rhetoric.

    The problem I have with “Conservative” as a label is that you’re conserving. Saving. Always on the defensive. The “status quo” of spending keeps expanding and expanding, but never contracting.

    Smash the status quo damnit.

    Comment by Minnesota Grizzly Bear | January 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

