The Minnesota Grizzly Bear

Roaring about life since 2009

music + property, pt. II

This is an update to the last post, regarding the sources and studies I’ve been reading lately.  Here are a few of them:

N. Stephen Kinsella “Against Intellectual Property.”

Roderick T. Long “The Libetarian Case Against Intellectual Property Rights

And holy shit, check this out, I think I have a doppleganger out there somewhere because this ISN’T ME.  SERIOUSLY. 

The thing that gets me the most as a borderline-libertarian is the idea of an IP owner having some kind of ownership over a part of your mind.  Because that’s essentially what this concept is about.  How do you go about dealing with that?  This guy who looks an awful lot like me has made some damn fine points about the illogic behind IP, hahaha.

 

 UPDATE: I’ve just learned that the link to Kinsella’s PDF is dead, and I’m trying to find another source for it but I think the Von Mises Institute has started charging for it.  Damnit.  It’s a good book, I’ll find a way!

Have it good,

-Mike

December 3, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. mises.org/journals/jls/15_2/15_2_1.pdf

    the PDF worked for me from this link I copied from your facebook. Also that’s a LOT of footnotes, haha.

    Comment by Clint | December 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. Von Mises Institute gives everything away as well as sells it, so the doc should be somewhere on the site for free.

    Comment by Mr Anon | December 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

